The Oregon Hazelnut Commission (OHC) is a Commodity Commission and agency of the State of Oregon under the Oregon Department of Agriculture. It was formed by legislative action in 1951.  The charge of the OHC is to provide production research for the hazelnut industry.  Members are appointed by the Director of Agriculture and include 7 growers and one public member.  Funding for the Commission is a per ton assessment determined by and collected from the growers via the handlers.

Current Commission members:

Garry Rodakowski, VidaChairman(541) 554-9449
Michelle Armstrong, Woodburn, Public MemberVice Chairman(503) 981-3521
Tim Newkirk, CanbyTreasurer(503) 810-1692
Sean Denfeld, HillsboroCommissioner(503) 329-1265
Shaun George, NewbergCommissioner(503) 537-9606
Tristan Gingerich, CanbyCommissioner(503) 651-3742
Dan Keeley, St. PaulCommissioner(503) 633-2838
Matt Schuster, GervaisCommissioner(503) 510-4731

For a synopsis of the 2015-16 research projects, see “Production Research” in the Growers Corner .